00_Compilation Album

40/40 / カーペンターズ~40/40 ベスト・セレクション

祝・結成40周年!! 日本のファンが選曲するベスト盤。リチャードとカレンが“カーペンターズ”としてメジャー契約を果したのが1969年4月22日。それから40年目を迎える2009年の4月22日、特別企画盤をリリース!

40/40 / The Carpenters / amazon

カーペンターズ~40/40 ベスト・セレクション / amazon

40/40 (originally subtitled The Best Selection) is a two-disc compilation by American pop group The Carpenters. The album features 40 songs which span their entire career (10 of them were determined by Japanese fan voting), and first issued by Universal Japan on April 22, 2009 (forty years after they signed to A&M Records).[1] It was issued worldwide half a year later, leaving out its subtitle.

The original Japanese release was pressed on the SHM-CD (super high material CD) with improved sound, while the cheaper international edition was issued on the standard CD format. One other change is that the Japanese track listing included “Leave Yesterday Behind” while the standard worldwide release substituted “Touch Me When We’re Dancing”.

Disc one

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. Yesterday Once More John BettisRichard Carpenter 3:58
2. Superstar Bonnie BramlettLeon Russell 3:49
3. Rainy Days and Mondays Roger NicholsPaul Williams 3:35
4. Top of the World Bettis, Carpenter 2:58
5. Ticket to Ride Lennon–McCartney 4:09
6. Love is Surrender Ralph Carmichael 1:58
7. Maybe It’s You Bettis, Carpenter 3:01
8. Reason to Believe Tim Hardin 3:04
9. Where Do I Go from Here Parker McGee 4:25
10. This Masquerade Russell 4:53
11. It’s Going to Take Some Time Carole King, Toni Stern 2:57
12. One More Time Lewis Anderson 3:31
13. Those Good Old Dreams Bettis, Carpenter 4:13
14. For All We Know Fred KarlinJimmy GriffinRobb Royer 2:31
15. Crystal Lullaby Bettis, Carpenter 3:56
16. I Believe You Dick Addrisi, Don Addrisi 3:54
17. (They Long to Be) Close to You / 遙かなる影 Burt BacharachHal David 3:40
18. Theme from Bless the Beasts and Children Barry De Vorzon, Perry Botkin, Jr. 3:15
19. All You Get from Love Is a Love Song Steve Eaton 3:46
20. Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft (The Recognized Anthem of World Contact Day) Klaatu (Terry Draper and John Woloschuk) 7:09

Disc two

No. Title Writer(s) Length  
1. I Need to Be in Love / 青春の輝き BettisCarpenterAlbert Hammond 3:48
2. Now Nichols, Dean Pitchford 3:50
3. Solitaire Neil Sedaka, Phil Cody 4:40
4. Please Mr. Postman Robert Bateman, Georgia Dobbins, William Garrett, Freddie Gorman, Brian Holland 2:48
5. Hurting Each Other Gary Geld, Peter Udell 2:47
6. I Won’t Last a Day Without You Nichols, Williams 3:54
7. Sweet, Sweet Smile Otha YoungJuice Newton 3:02
8. A Song for You Russell 4:37
9.> “Ordinary Fool” Williams 3:42
10. “When You’ve Got What It Takes” William M. Lane, Nichols 3:41
11. Goodbye to Love Bettis, Carpenter 3:56
12. Your Baby Doesn’t Love You Anymore Larry Weiss 3:51
13. Sing Joe Raposo 3:18
14. Baby It’s You Bacharach, Mack DavidBarney Williams 2:52
15. Let Me Be the One Nichols, Williams 2:49
16. Only Yesterday Bettis, Carpenter 3:46
17. Jambalaya (On the Bayou) Hank Williams, Moon Mullican 3:39
18.> Touch Me When We’re Dancing Ken Bell, Terry Skinner and J. L. Wallace 3:20
19. We’ve Only Just Begun Nichols, Williams 3:04
20. “When It’s Gone (It’s Just Gone)” Randy Handley 5:00